Skip to main content

Our History

Firefighters in a line from an old photograph

Tillamook Fire District was created in 1993 by a vote of the citizens of the City of Tillamook and the surrounding Tillamook Rural Fire Protection District. The result of that vote was a consolidation of two governing bodies into one and officially changing the name of the 104 year-old Tillamook Fire Department to Tillamook Fire District.


Present Day

​Today Tillamook Fire District operates out of three fire stations located within the 97 square miles of district boundary and is dispatched by the Tillamook County Emergency Communications District. The main fire station is located within the City of Tillamook and houses a vast majority of the district apparatus, equipment, and is the primary station that all career staff respond from. One satellite rural station is located in the Pleasant Valley area, and one satellite station is located in the Community of Cape Meares. District volunteers respond from all fire stations. The district provides fire protection and emergency services to approximately 17,000 full-time residents that live within the district boundaries of the City of Tillamook, and the surrounding rural areas of Kilchis, Idaville, Cape Meares, Trask, Wilson, Fairview, South Prairie, Bewley Creek, and Pleasant Valley.



​Tillamook Fire District is located in central Tillamook County on the Northern Oregon Coast. We are approximately 75 miles due west from Portland Oregon. We are surrounded by the Tillamook State Forest, scenic waterways, and Oregon Dairy Farms providing high quality dairy products through the Tillamook County Creamery Association.

blue sky, building with Tillamook written on the side